Heart of Darkness

A short story independent of The Crystal Tower universe. A sole entry I hope you enjoy!

 

If mature in Darkness, then trustworthy is not,

But trust will get me nowhere…

If mature in Darkness, where there is no light,

Then guide me, you are Hope and I am blind.

 

The endless realm of Solitude.

Darkness…

Her eyes fought to find the light, the Hope she desperately needed. But the fight was futile, riddled in desperate attempts and fruitless endeavors. In the midst of that consuming dread, the harmony in her heart weakened with every heartbeat, and left it awash with sadness. A chaos that destroyed her sweet memories. Fear poisoned her essence.

In Darkness, where there is no Light, she stumbled to the ground and cried.

The salty taste of her tears was the catalyst that crumbled her desire to live. Such loneliness should not condemn any soul. The nature of such solitude was unknown to her. She knew only happiness, love. But like the shattering of glass, it all fell apart. Now, she remained in such void, where there was no past, present or future.

The girl lay, her tears never stalled, for an eternity. But after one eternity of such misery, she gave way to madness, her mind was lost, it would never come back. Her memories were gone, like burnt ashes that were swept by the wind. In the final eternity, she lost herself. She was no more.

And from the ashes that were her memories, there grew a presence. It matured in Darkness, and in Darkness remained. The Heart of Darkness awoke, the melody it was greeted brought forth an emotion it could not bear. It brought forth pain, a pain unlike any.

The presence took a step forward. “Why do you cry?” it asked in a voice that echoed, startling the lost soul.

“I no longer remember why I cry, I only remember the sorrow I feel,” the girl answered, now sitting on the ground.

The girl tried desperately to find the source of the voice, the presence that had spoken. A fear came forth, the unknown entity sat in front of the girl, seeing her features even in the dark. A most beautiful Angel sat before it.

“What are you?” the little girl asked.

“I was born from this Darkness and I heard you crying. It made my heart ache.”

“How can I trust you of you were born from that which I cannot escape?”

“Where do you want to escape?”

“I do not know.”

“Then take my hand, I am the Heart of Darkness, I am the memories you have forgotten.”

“But if you are memories, then you are no heart!”

“The heart keeps the greatest memories.”

“But you are Darkness, not Light!”

“Then trust will not be enough.”

“No,” the little girl answered.

She took the entities hand. If such memories matured in Darkness, then they were Hope.

“Is this trust?” the entity asked.

“No, you are hope, and I am blind.”

“Then I will guide you to the afterlife, and together, we can play games in paradise. You see the light?” the entity asked.

The little girl looked forward, and at a distance away, she found what she sought, she found the light.

She turned to the entity, a boy her age.

The boy smiled a sweet smile. “Your death will ache in your mother’s heart.”

The little girl smiled and nodded twice. She looked forward, and together, they walked to the Light, to play in paradise for all eternities combined.

Copyright © 2013 by Javier Duenes. All rights reserved. 

Leave a Reply

